Rotherfield Primary School

Email Us
Phone01892 852574
Life at Rotherfield Primary School Life at Rotherfield Primary School Life at Rotherfield Primary School Life at Rotherfield Primary School Life at Rotherfield Primary School Life at Rotherfield Primary School Life at Rotherfield Primary School

Our Pupils

Our pupils enjoy a rich and varied curriculum, which promotes a positive learning experience for all.

National Curriculum

The National Curriculum forms the basis of the school’s teaching objectives, schemes of work and means of assessing each child’s progress and levels of achievement. For Reception, the framework for planning children’s learning comes from the EYFS Statutory Framework. The curriculum is kept under review to ensure that it is fully accessible for all children. The curriculum reflects our multi-cultural society and we aim for all children to have access to the whole curriculum.

All subject areas are developed and taught so that children can engage themselves as fully as possible. They improve their knowledge, skills and understanding through a range of themes. We base our work on a main theme per term that threads through all subjects so that we immerse children in that given area. As a parent you are provided with a class newsletter three times per year informing you of these themes so that you can further enhance this learning by visits to the library or places of interest linked to them to inspire further whilst working in partnership. 

As children reach the ages of six and 11, they are currently assessed using National Standard Assessment Tasks (SAT’s). The core National Curriculum subjects are English, Maths, Science, ICT and RE.

The Early Years Foundation Stage

The Foundation Stage covers children from birth until they are five. These children follow a broad and balanced curriculum, based on the new EYFS Statutory Framework. We feel that young children need to be involved in a range of richly motivating activities. They need to:

  • Investigate and explore
  • Engage in first hand experiences
  • Feel valued
  • Work in different ways and at their own pace
  • Recognise and respect the needs of others
  • Learn to become part of a community

They also need to have:

  • Realistic challenges to take their learning further
  • Time to play in varied and stimulating environments
  • Praise and encouragement
  • Opportunities to reflect and consolidate

The Foundations Stage curriculum covers the following seven areas of learning:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Each area is given equal weighting and the activities and experiences provided support these.

Peake (Reception) class has a large classroom with its own outdoor area, which the children have free-flow access to during the school day. The outdoor area is being continually developed and changed to suit the children’s needs.